Подледный Дайвинг на Байкале

Barguzin

The total length of the route is 2000-2400 km !!!

Ice King's Palace. The under-ice kingdom of Baikal. There are no words to describe those fantastic, impressive, monumental, mesmerizing, breath-taking ... landscapes that you can see if you find yourself under the ice in Northern Baikal. It won't be easy. To see all this, you have to LEAVE THE COMFORT ZONE. Yes, it's worth seeing at least once in your life! Nowhere, nowhere (!!!) SUCH monumental, gigantic, broken, bizarre forms are formed as in Northern Baikal.

Dates & price

baikal-map-лед-бельки-север-хиус.jpgSeason - from 25 March to 20 April (may change due to ice conditions). 

Dates Ice Diving Expedition 2022:
04.04 - 11.04.2022
11.04 - 18.04.2022


8 days / 275 000 rub.

Book for other dates tanya@baikaldiving.ru

* blue and red lines - depending on the season and ice situation.

Schedule

Day 1. Meeting in Irkutsk (6.30-7.00). Group transfer "Irkutsk - Ust-Barguzin". Travel time - 13-15 hours (700 km). On the way stops in beautiful places for photo and video-filming, and of course for meals (testing tradition buryat cuisine).  Accommodations in the hotel. Dinner.
Day 2. Breakfast. Trip on ice to the middle of Baikal. When entering ice there will be a stop to bring gifts to Baikal’s god Burkhan in order for him to grant the group a successful trip. Search and watching of nerpa and beljoks, photo- and/or video-filming. Lunch on ice. Return back to the village, dinner.
Day 3. Breakfast. Trip to the middle of Baikal. A dive near nerpa’s habitat. Depth under ice is in between 1000 and 1400 meters. Lunch on ice. Return to hotel, dinner.
Day 4. Breakfast. Trip to middle of Baikal. Seal watcing. Diving near crack. Lunch on ice. Return to hotel, dinner.
Day 5. Breakfast. Trip to the middle of Baikal. A dive near nerpa’s habitat. Depth under ice is in between 1000 and 1400 meters. Lunch on ice. Return to hotel, dinner.
Day 6. Breakfast. Trip to middle of Baikal. Seal watcing. Diving near crack. Lunch on ice. Return to hotel, dinner.
Day 7. Day excursion to the Barguzin Valley. A great beautiful place!
Day 8. Transfer to Irkutsk with lunch on the way. Arrival to Irkutsk. End of the program.

 
* Every day: departure from the hotel - 8.30, return to the hotel 19.00-20.00. Daily travels - 100 - -300 km off-road. The standard travel speed is 35-45 km / h. So, one way trip will take from 2 to 4 hours.

** Dive sites depend on ice and weather conditions. If it is impossible to dive in the center of Lake Baikal, near the seal habitat, diving changes to diving near cracks.

*** Excursions - depending on weather and ice conditions: Barguzinsky and Chivyrkuisky bays, North and South Heads of Svyatoy Nos, western side of Svyatoy Nos, Ushkany Islands, North-East Baikal.

Conditions & rules

more about Exrteme Ice Diving Expedition

Water temperature +0.5 +1°С 
Visibility- 15 - 30 m
Currents - unlikely, if present, they are extremely weak, practically invisible.
Air temperature: -40°С / -25°С  (February), -20°С / -10°С (March-April). Very strong wind is possible (50-130 km / h). We spend all day on the ice, in the open air.

Diving rules:
1. Ice Diver + Dry Suit Diver certification required.
2. Diving is possible only in a group of 2-3 people. Solo ice diving is prohibited.
3. Groups of divers dive into the hole one by one. During the dive of the 1st group - the second group holds the rope on the surface. After the dive, the groups change roles.
4. Ice diving is possible only with the use of a safety line (rope). The safety rope is fixed to the diver's equipment. Diving without a rope or using an individual reel is FORBIDDEN.
5. It is necessary to have 2 regulators.

Recommended equipment - dry suit, dry gloves, 2 regulators (for extremly cold water, mark 0-4°C), 3 layers undergarment: thermal underwear, special diving underwear maximum den (Arctic 4 Element, Body Tec2 Waterproof or similar) + undersuit max den (BZ400 Santi, Wezzle Extreme or similar), 2 pairs of wool socks. 

Extreme Expedition

Difficulty level: stronge+

The goal of the Barguzin Ice Diving Expedition is to dive near freshly formed cracks,  sealwatching, dive in the area of ​​seal houses. Special program - dive with baby seals and an adult seal.

The expedition takes place in the area of periodic emissions of methane gas, from a depth of 800 m. The thickness of the ice, in the area of the gas release, is only 5-10 cm, what makes crossing on the ice impossible. There is also a long distance from the dive sites to the village (up to 200 km). This requires maximum mobility, maneuverability and compactness of vehicles (cars).

Our team will do everything to make your ice experience and diving experience as comfortable and safe as possible. To make the expedition successful and comfortable for everyone, we ask you to carefully read the rules of participation in the expedition.

1. Safety on ice. Baikal ice conditions and weather conditions can change suddenly and rapidly. Decisions about diving, time and place of departure from the ice / ice to be accepted in real time. It is important to attend all briefings throughout the day and not stray too far from the main group.

2. Clothes. It can be VERY cold! Minus 40 + strong wind. All day on ice, outdoors. It is necessary to have down jackets, hats, mittens, trousers - as warm and windproof as possible. Shoes are ideal from a fishing store. Inside - felt (like a felt boot), on top - wind protection and waterproof material, the sole are waterproof. + woolen socks. Gortex and other technology bots - NOT SUITABLE (based on experience).

3. Medicine. There is a small first-aid post in Ust-Barguzin. The nearest hospital is in Ulan-Ude (300 km). Pharmacy in the Ust-Barguzin - a minimum set of basic medicines. Personal first aid kit - you need to bring everything with you. Personal care must be taken while on ice. It is recommended to have shoe spikes.

4. Diving

- Recommended level: 200+ dives. Great practice in using a dry suit. In the case of free flow, you should be able to quickly and calmly switch to a spare regulator at a considerable distance from the hole, and also be ready to shut off valves.

- Perfect buoyancy skills. Most dives will take place without the usual landmarks, bottom or topography. Most dives are no more than 2 meters deep. BUT! The depth below us is from several tens to hundreds of meters. Buoyancy control only using a suit or mouth inflating BCD. The dive takes place in the ice crystallization zone, the expansion joint inflation button freezes.

- Dive time. We do not limit the dive time and recommend planning dives for 50 - 70 minutes. From experience, this is the optimal time to explore all the fantastic beauty for which we are doing this expedition.

- Seal diving. In the case of diving with baby seals, the dive time is strictly limited to 10 minutes! Despite their curiosity and high level of contact, the cubs get a lot of stress from the fact that divers dive near their houses and cannot breathe effectively.

- Before diving. Due to long journeys and the considerable remoteness of diving sites, warm houses and tents are not used. Preparation of equipment and changing of clothes takes place in cars (UAZs). All members of the group prepare for the dive at the same time and independently.

- Exit from the water. The holes are not equipped with ladders. The skill of removing equipment in the water is a plus.

- Surface support. The rope handler is not your partner. Any problem on the surface or underwater must be solved by you personally or with the help of your underwater buddy.

All activities of the Ice Diving Expedition are planned for self-sufficient and experienced participants.

Diving with nerpa

Our experience of ice diving with seals began over 20 years ago. The first attempts were unsuccessful. No one suggested another way, like catching the seal with nets. At that time, we gave up diving with seals and began to look for an alternative. Thousands of ice trips and study of adult seal behavior through observation in the summer. During this time, we learned to approach an adult seal very close - at arm's length, learned to scuba dive so that the seal swims a few meters away, learned to take underwater photos and videos shot "live", and not from cameras lowered into the water. We know the features of the baby seals and their interaction with the mother. Not only diving in the area of seal houses, but also diving with seals without disturbing their habitat. We know how to dive in such a way that adult seals (which cannot be caught with nets!) - swim to the dwelling and swim near with the divers.

Ice Diving Expedition with nerpa dives * is possible only in the first half of April and only for extra small groups.

Season: April 1-15
Location: southern (Listvyanka) and northern Baikal (Ust-Barguzin).
Duration of the program: 6-8 days.
Maximum number of participants in a group: 6

Expedition dates and price: on request, start from 275,000 rubles.

Expedition schedule:
- before the start of the expedition (2-3 days) - preliminary search for seal habitats, suitable both for observation from the surface and for diving. Performed by specialists.
Day 1. Transfer from Irkutsk to the base (Listvyanka village (70 km) or Ust-Barguzin village (700 km). Transportation of expedition equipment.
Day 2 - Day 5 (Day 7). Daily trips to the ice. Observation of the seal on the surface. Accurate determination of the dive site, based on the ice conditions, as well as the actual presence of a seal. Preparation of the site for diving. 1 dive in the area of the seal house. With an 8-day program - 2 dives in the area of the nerpa house. On other days - diving on ice cracks and hummocks.
Day 6 (8). Transfer to Irkutsk


* Freshwater seal. Baikal seal. Very beautiful and cute animal. Seal cubs (belyok) so cute that they leave no one indifferent.

Seals are born in February-March in a special ice house. The dwelling of a seal family has rooms, a pool with an ice bottom and an exit "to the ice".  A snowdrift on top of the house reliably hides from the cold, crows and prying eyes. Like any wild animal, the seal is absolutely friendly and does not threaten a person, in the absence of aggression from the person himself. For many centuries, seals have been hunted for their fat and skins. The ban on the extraction of seals has existed for over 20 years, but the innate caution of the seal makes it very difficult to monitor them. The Baikal seal is the most shy seal. The usual distance to which you can carefully approach is no more than 100 m, and even more under water.

There are 2 ways to get a beautiful photo of a seal, and especially a baby seal at close range. The first one is to break the house and catch the belyok with nets, not caring about humanity and consequences. As they say in these cases, "the actor has worked." A seal cub, even returned to the house, will freeze on the very first night or be pecked at by crows. This method is simple and cheap, it is used by the order of some TV companies (for filming films about the baikal baby seal) and travel agencies that offer dubious entertainment to attract a mass tourist. Like a zoo on ice.

The second way is observation. Long observation. Multi-day ice trips. Search for seal habitats. Slow movement of people and cars to habitats. The seal must get used to the person, and the person must become a part of the landscape. This method is possible only at a certain time - the time when the houses have already melted under the influence of the sun and the cubs have grown so much that they can dive and stay under water for a long time. You can come close to the seal and observe its behavior. You can dive close to the seal house. And if everything goes well, then you can dive with a seal.

Подледный Дайвинг на Байкале

Баргузин

Общая протяженность маршрута - 2000-2400 км!!!

Чертоги ледяного короля. Подледное царство Байкала. Нет таких слов, чтобы описать те фантастические, впечатляющие, монументальные, завораживающие, останавливающие дыхание...., пейзажи, которые вы можете увидеть, если окажетесь подо льдом, в Северном Байкале. Это не будет просто. Чтобы увидеть всё это - придется ВЫЙТИ ИЗ ЗОНЫ КОМФОРТА. Да, это стоит увидеть хотя бы раз в жизни! Нигде, нигде (!!!) не образуется ТАКИХ монументальных, гигантских, ломанных, причудливых форм, как на Северном Байкале.

Даты и цены

baikal-map-лед-бельки-север-хиус.jpgПериод - с 25 марта по 20 апреля (может меняться в зависимости от ледовой обстановки). 

Даты Ледовые Дайвинг Экспедиции 2022 г.:
04.04 - 11.04.2022
11.04 - 18.04.2022

8 дней / 275 000 руб.


Забронировать Ледовую Экспедицию на свои даты tanya@baikaldiving.ru

*синия и красные ветки маршрута - зависит от сезона и ледовой ситуации. 

Расписание

День 1.  Встреча в Иркутске (в 6.30-7.00). Групповой трансфер "Иркутск - Усть-Баргузин". Дорога займет 13-15 часов (700 км).  По пути остановки в красивых местах для фото и видеосъемки. Обед (дегустация блюд бурятской кухни). Размещение в отеле. Ужин.
День 2. Завтрак. Ледовая дорога на середину Байкала. Остановка при въезде на лед и принесение жертвы богу Байкала Бурхану для того, чтобы путешествие было удачным. Выслеживание, наблюдение фотографирование и видеосъемка нерпы и белька. В промежутке обед на льду. Экскурсия. Возвращение, ужин.
День 3. Завтрак. Ледовая дорога на середину Байкала. Погружение возле нерпячьего жилища. Глубина под майной – 1000 - 1400 метров! Обед на льду. Экскурсия. Возвращение, ужин.
День 4. Завтрак. Ледовая дорога на середину Байкала. Выслеживание, наблюдение фотографирование и видеосъемка нерпы и белька. Дайвинг возле трещины. В промежутке обед на льду. Экскурсия. Возвращение, ужин.
День 5. Завтрак. Ледовая дорога на середину Байкала. Погружение возле нерпячьего жилища. Глубина под майной – 1000 - 1400 метров! Обед на льду. Экскурсия. Возвращение, ужин.
День 6. Завтрак. Ледовая дорога на середину Байкала. Выслеживание, наблюдение фотографирование и видеосъемка нерпы и белька. Дайвинг возле трещины. В промежутке обед на льду. Экскурсия. Возвращение, ужин.
День 7. Дневная экскурсия в Баргузинскую долину. Красивейшее место!
День 8. Завтрак. Трансфер в Иркутск с обедом по пути. Прибытие в Иркутск. Окончание программы  


*Выезд из отеля - 8.30, возвращение в отель 19.00-20.00. Ежедневные переезды - 100 - -300 км по бездорожью. Стандартная скорость перемещения  - 35-45 км/час. Так, дорога в одну сторону будет занимать от 2-х до 4-х часов. 

**Места погружений определяются ледовой ситуацией и погодными условиями. При невозможности погружений в центре Байкала, возле логовищ нерпы - погружения будут заменены на погружения возле трещин.  

***Экскурсии - в зависимости от погоды и ледовой обстановки: Баргузинский и  Чивыркуйский заливы, Баргузинский Перешеек, Северное и Южное Изголовья Святого Носа, западная сторона Святого Носа, Ушканьи о-ва, Северо-Восточный Байкал.

Условия погружений

информация о Ледовой Дайвинг Экспедиции

Температура воды +0.5 +1°С 
Видимость - 15 - 30м
Течения - маловероятны, при наличие - крайне слабые, практически незаметны.

Температура воздуха: -40°С / -25°С  (февраль), -20°С / -10°С (март-апрель).
Возможен очень сильный ветер (50-130 км/час). Весь день проводим на льду, на открытом воздухе.

Правила дайвинга:
1. Наличие сертификата Ice Diver + Dry Suit Diver - ОБЯЗАТЕЛЬНО. 
2. Погружения возможны только группой из 2-3 человек. Одиночные погружения под лед запрещены.
3. Группы дайверов погружаются в майну по очереди. 1 майна используется для 3-х групп.
4. Подледные погружения возможны только с использованием страховочного фала (веревки). Страховочная веревка фиксируется на снаряжении дайвера. Погружения без веревки, а также с использованием индивидуальной катушки - ЗАПРЕЩЕНЫ.
5. Наличие 2-х регуляторов (2 независимые 1-ые ступени) - обязательно.

Рекомендуемое снаряжение - сухой костюм, сухие перчатки, 2 регулятора (для экстремально холодной воды, маркировка 0-4°С), 3 слоя утеплителя: нательное термобелье + специальное дайверское термобелье повышенной плотности (Arctic 4 Element, Body Tec2 Waterproof или аналог) + максимально толстый комбинезон (BZ400 Santi, Wezzle Extreme или аналог), 2 пары носков (предпочтительно шерстяные). 

Экспедиция

Уровень сложности: высокий. 

Цель Баргузинской Ледовой Дайвинг Экспедиции - погружение возле свежеобразованных трещин, наблюдение за нерпой на льду, погружение в районе нерпичьих домиков. В специальной программе - погружение с бельками и взрослой нерпой. 

Экспедиция проходит в районе периодических выбросов газогидратов с глубины 800 м. Толщина льда, в районе выхода газа, всего 5-10 см, что делает передвижение по льду невозможным. Интересующие нас места погружений будут находится в значительном удалении от нашего отеля (до 200 км). Всё это требует максимальной мобильности, маневренности и компактности средств передвижения (машин). 

Наша команда будет стремится делать всё, чтобы сделать ваше пребывание на льду и погружения максимально комфортными и безопасными. Чтобы экспедиция была успешной и комфортной для всех, просим вас внимательно прочитать правила участия в экспедиции. 

1. Безопасность на льду. Состояние льда Байкала и погодные условия меняются внезапно и стремительно. Решения о  времени и месте выезда со льда/на лед принимаются в режиме реального времени. Важно присутствовать на всех брифингах в течение дня и не уходить далеко от основной группы.

2. Одежда. Может быть ОЧЕНЬ холодно! Минус 40 + сильный ветер. Весь день на льду, на открытом воздухе. Необходимо иметь пуховики, шапки, рукавицы, брюки - максимально теплые и ветрозащитные. Обувь - идеально из рыболовного магазина. Внутри - войлочный вкладыш (мини-валенок), сверху - ветровлагозащитная ткань, подошва и низ - непромокаемые галоши. + шерстяные носки (вязанные). Гортекс  и  прочие  технологические  боты  -  НЕ  ПОДХОДЯТ.  Проверено неоднократно - ноги замерзают через 15 минут.

3. Медицина. В Усть-Баргузине - небольшой медпункт (возможность перевязки и простых уколов). Ближайшая больница - в г. Улан-Удэ (300 км). Аптека в п. Усть-Баргузин - минимальный набор базовых лекарств. Личная аптечка - все нужно привозить с собой. При нахождении на льду необходимо соблюдать персональную осторожность. Рекомендуется иметь шипы для обуви

4. Дайвинг

- Рекомендуемый уровень: 200+ погружений. Свободное владение сухим костюмом. В случае фри-флоу, вы должны уметь быстро и спокойно переключаться на запасной регулятор на значительном удалении от майны, а также быть готовыми к перекрываю вентилей.

 - Навык идеальной плавучести. Большинство погружений будет проходить без привычных ориентиров, в виде дна или рельефа. Единственный ориентир - поверхность льда. Глубина большинства погружений - не более 2х метров. НО! Глубина под нами - от нескольких десятков до сотен метров. Контроль плавучести только с использованием костюма или надув BCD ртом.  Погружение проходит в зоне кристализации льда, кнопка поддува компенсатора замерзает.

- Время погружения. Мы не ограничиваем время погружения и рекомендуем планировать дайвы по 50 - 70 минут. По опыту, именно это время оптимально, чтобы осмотреть всю ту фантастическую красоту, ради которой мы и делаем эту экспедицию.

- Погружения с нерпой. В случае погружения с бельками - время погружения жестко ограничено 10 минутами! Несмотря на любознательность и высокую контактность, детеныши испытывают большой стресс от присутствия дайверов возле логова и не могут эффективно дышать.

- Подготовка к погружению. Ввиду длительных переездов и значительной удаленности мест погружений, теплые домики и палатки не используются. Сбор обрудования и переодевание происходит в машинах (УАЗы). Все участники группы собираются одновременно и самостоятельно. 

- Выход из воды. Майны не оборудованы лестницами. Навык снимания снаряжения  в воде - приветствуется. 

- Страхующий на поверхности. Персонал, работающий с веревкой - не является вашим напарником. Любая проблема на поверхности или под водой должна быть решена вами лично или при помощи вашего подводного напарника.

Все мероприятия Ледовой Дайвинг Экспедиции рассчитаны на самодостаточных и подготовленных участников.

Дайвинг с нерпой

Наш опыт подледных погружений с нерпой начался более 20 лет назад. Первые попытки были неудачными. Другого способа, как поимка сетями, никто не предлагал. В то время мы отказались от дайвинга с бельками и стали искать альтернативу. Тысячи выездов на лед и и изучение поведения взрослой нерпы через наблюдение летом. За это время мы научились подходить ко взрослой нерпе очень близко - на расстояние вытянутой руки, научились нырять с аквалангом так, что нерпа проплывает в нескольких метрах, научились делать подводные фото и видео, снятые "в живую", а не с опущенных в воду камер. Изучили поведение бельков и их взаимодействие с матерью. Сделали возможным не только дайвинг в районе логовищ, но и погружения с бельками, без нарушения их среды обитания. Мы научились нырять так, что взрослые нерпы (которых и сетями невозможно поймать!) - приплывают к логову и плавают среди дайверов.

Ледовая Дайвинг Экспедиция с погружениями с нерпой* возможна только в первой половине апреля и только для небольших групп.

Период проведения: 1-15 апреля
Место проведения: южный (Листвянка) и северный Байкал (Усть-Баргузин).
Продолжительность программы: 6-8 дней.
Максимальное количество участников в группе: 6

Даты и стоимость экспедиции: по запросу, от 275 000 руб.

Расписание экспедиции:
- до начала экспедиции (2-3 дня)- предварительный поиск мест обитания нерпы, подходящий как для наблюдения с поверхности, так и для погружений. Выполняется специалистами.
День 1. Трансфер из Иркутска к месту базирования (п. Листвянка (70 км) или п. Усть-Баргузин (700 км). Доставка всего необходимого оборудования.
День 2 - день 5 (день 7). Выезд на лед. Наблюдение за нерпой на поверхности. Точное определение места погружения, исходя из ледовой обстановки, а также реального наличия нерпы. Подготовка места погружения. 1 погружение в районе логова. При 8-ми дневной программе - 2 погружения в районе логова. В другие дни - погружения на ледовые трещины и торосы.
День 6 (8). Трансфер в Иркутск.


*Пресноводный тюлень. Байкальская нерпа. Очень красивый и мимимишный зверь. Детеныши нерпы - бельки, до того милы, что никого не оставляют равнодушными.

Нерпята рождаются в феврале-марте, в специальном ледовом доме. Жилище нерпячьей семьи имеет комнатки, бассейн с ледяным дном и выход "в подлед". Сверху дом надежно укрыт от холода, ворон и чужих глаз снежным сугробом. Как и любое дикое животное - нерпа абсолютно дружелюбна и невраждебна к человеку, при отсутствии агрессии, со стороны самого человека. Много веков на нерпу охотились ради жира и шкур. Запрет на добычу нерпы существует более 20 лет, однако врожденная осторожность нерпы делает наблюдение за ними весьма непростым. Байкальская нерпа - самый пугливый тюлень. Обычное расстояние, на которое можно осторожно подойти - не превышает 100 м, а под водой - еще больше.

Есть 2 способа получить красивые фото нерпы, и особенно, белька с близкого расстояния. 1-ый - сломать домик и поймать белька сетями, не заботясь о гуманности и последствиях. Как говорят в этих случаях "актер отработал". Детеныш нерпы, даже возвращенный в домик, замерзнет в первую же ночь или будет заклеван воронами. Способ этот простой и дешевый, применяется по заказу некоторых телекомпаний (для съемок фильмов про белька) и турфирм, предлагающими сомнительные развлечения для привлечения массового туриста. Такой вот контактный зоопарк на льду.

2-ой способ - наблюдение. Долгое наблюдение. Многодневные выезды на лед. Поиск мест обитания нерпы. Постепенное, медленное перемещение людей и машин к местам обитания. Зверь должен привыкнуть к человеку, а человек стать частью пейзажа. Этот способ возможен только в определенное время - время, когда домики уже растаяли под действием солнца и бельки подросли настолько, что умеют нырять и долго оставаться под водой. К нерпе можно подойти близко и наблюдать за ее поведением. В районе логовища можно нырять. А если всё складывается удачно, то можно понырять и с нерпой.